

California State Fire Marshal Information Bulletin 14-006

> September 4, 2014 (Revised 02-12-2015)

Updated Smoke Alarm Requirements

It has been brought to our attention that there is still some confusion regarding the new smoke alarm requirements pursuant to Health and Safety Code Section 13114. We would like to provide the following clarification.

A. For Smoke Alarm Manufacturers:

- 1. As of July 1, 2014, in order to be listed by Office of the State Fire Marshal (OSFM), new smoke alarms that are solely battery powered must have a nonreplaceable, nonremovable battery that is capable of powering the smoke alarm for at least 10 years.
- 2. Solely battery powered smoke alarms which have been approved and listed by OSFM prior to July 1, 2014 and which have been ordered by, or are in the inventory of, an owner, managing agent, contractor, wholesaler, or retailer on or before July 1, 2014 are exempted from the 10 year battery requirement until July 1, 2015.
- Beginning January 1, 2015, in order to be listed by OSFM, <u>all</u> smoke alarms shall display:
 (a) the date of manufacture on the device,
 - (b) provide a place on the device where the date of installation can be written,
 - (c) and incorporate a hush feature.
- 4. The following devices are exempted from all of the above requirements:
 - (a) Smoke detectors intended to be used with a fire alarm or household fire alarm control unit.

(b) Smoke alarms that send a supervision and battery depletion signal to a fire alarm or household fire alarm control unit via a low-power radio frequency wireless communication signal.

(c) Smoke alarms that use low-power radio frequency wireless communication signal for interconnection.

5. Existing smoke alarm listings which do not meet the above requirements will be deactivated and will no longer be approved for sale in California. For current smoke alarm listings, please visit our website at: http://osfm.fire.ca.gov/strucfireengineer/strucfireengineer_bml.php



California State Fire Marshal Information Bulletin 14-006

B. For Consumers/End Users:

- 1. Existing installed operable/in working condition smoke alarms are NOT required to be replaced.
- 2. For all dwelling units intended for human occupancy for which a building permit is issued on or after January 1, 2014, for alterations, repairs, or additions exceeding one thousand dollars (\$1,000), the permit issuer shall not sign off on the completion of work until the permittee demonstrates that all smoke alarms required for the dwelling unit are devices approved and listed by OSFM.
- 3. By January 1, 2016, owners of a dwelling unit intended for human occupancy in which one or more units is rented or leased shall install additional smoke alarms, as needed, to ensure that smoke alarms are located in compliance with current building standards. Existing alarms installed need not be replaced unless the alarm is inoperable.

For other questions relating to this new law or the placement of the devices, please contact your local enforcing agencies.

For more information please visit our website at: http://osfm.fire.ca.gov